Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this era, more and more patients prefer to take folk medicines which are prescribed by someone else rather than having a consultation with their doctors. I totally claim that this can have negative impacts on the lives of human beings. First of all, taking medicine is not a joke. If someone takes medicine not instructed by doctors, it can cause death if he takes the wrong dose or dangerous medicine and treatment. That sort of thing usually happens in deprived areas of developing countries since they do not have enough medical knowledge and money to go and visit clinics. Therefore, they just predict their disease by themselves and take alternative medicine and treatment by asking people from their surroundings. In some deprived areas, some proportion of the population die unnecessarily by taking an inappropriate alternative medication. Even though some people argue that they are made with herbs and are not harmful, it is produced unconventionally without practicality and are not certified by any organization like the FDA, Ministry of Health, WHO and many more. If someone takes medicine which is not instructed by doctors and has a drug allergy, then, it can cause serious consequences and even lead to death. Some drugs can lead to serious health problems even though they do not lead death immediately. For example, taking an overdose of antibiotics can cause stomach diseases and some drugs are harmful to the kidneys. Moreover, some remedies are prohibited for some people who have some diseases, for instance, a patient who is suffering from kidney disease is not allowed to take very strong medicines. That’s why no one should take medicine without the instruction of doctors. In conclusion, it is really dangerous to take medicine by our own decision if we are not a doctor since we do not know about the remedies, our disease and our body conditions. It takes around 10 years to become a doctor. Thus, the medical field is complicated and we cannot decide to take alternative medicines and treatment without the help of doctors.