The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, technology brings us more benefits that we can’t imagine before, face-to-face communication is being replaced with the use of social media apps, such as Facebook, Instagram, and Skype. In my opinion, this essay completely agrees that the advantages of technology overweight the disadvantages. In terms of disadvantages, social networking sites reduced the quality of interpersonal communication, and people are addicted to social networking, they stare at their phones all-time instead of paying attention to make a conversation with the people around them, so their social skills decreased gradually, take an example, more and more children immerse themselves in a virtual world, rejecting to communicate with their parents or other family members. Despite the above disadvantages, I believe that it comes to communication, social media does more good than harm. The benefits of social media are easier for us to keep in touch with our miss dear people, regardless of geographic location, such as a student who studying abroad or a lover of long distances relationships, can keep in contact with their loved one daily by using video call features of Instagram, Facebook or various other apps. Also, social media is a powerful tool in marketing and business. In this digital age, companies can keep connecting with customers by updating them regarding newly-released products or promotions posted on their social media channels, furthermore, thanks to the profit of social networking companies have been able to receive their client's complaints and suggestions immediately. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that the positive effects that social media has on our communication are overweight the disadvantages.