Many organisations and companies ask their staff to wear a uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this? What kind of jobs should have a work uniform?

There is a huge variety of jobs around the world and most organisations and companies follow a certain kind of dress code for their employees. This decision hides some advantages and some disadvantages as well. Overall, not every kind of job has to have a uniform. Corporations often ask their staff to stick to a specific wearing regulation. This act has many positive outcomes for the company. For instance, it could represent a pubblicity at a low cost, saving a lot of their money. Moreover, it makes employees feel part of a certain organisation, feeling proud and proving every day to be loyal to it. Additionally, workers feel less discrimination from their colleagues. For example, if there is an economic difference between them, it would most probably appear in different clothing. On the other hand, there are also some cons. Some people could be affected negatively as there would be some extra rules to follow, which is not preferred by everyone. This would bring them more stress from a psychological point of view. As we know, it is scientifically proven that working under stressful circumstances decreases the productivity of workers, which results in health issues and consequently in low growth of the corporation. In conclusion, some employers order their hired ones to wear a certain type of dress. This has some advantages both for the employers and the employees, which seem to be more, but harm is also a consequence that cannot be neglected. Therefore, managers should consider the best for their employees to reduce their stress levels, which affects directly profits and the company's reliability. In the last, it is really difficult to differentiate between jobs which should have or should not have a clothing code.