University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of students who study overseas is growing as part of their courses. Despite the higher expenses associated with studying abroad compared to studying in their home countries, young students will experience a positive impact on their personal growth. In my opinion, students far benefit from having studied in another country although they need to pay a significant amount of fees. The main advantage of studying abroad is that students have opportunities to broaden their perspectives, which aids in personal development. Studying and working with new people with different cultures, religions, and values leads to having opportunities to learn respect and acceptance of differences and diversity. For example, in class, students often work on projects as a team and encounter different opinions and points of view. Therefore, they need to discuss their opinions and find a compromise in order to complete their tasks collaboratively. Through these experiences, they have a better understanding of other perspectives which will benefit them when encountering challenges with others. The main disadvantage is that studying abroad costs a huge amount of money such as tuition fees, accommodations and other expenses. This means that both the parents and caregivers, as well as the students themselves, may experience a financial crisis which is coupled with the rise in the cost of living around the world. For example, during my study abroad experience, I struggled to pay rent and other bills which had a negative impact on my emotional well-being and overall mental state. These negative emotions led to poor academic performance as I had to earn money for my studies and other expenses. As a result, I had to change the course to an apprenticeship program that could help me to secure a job in hospitality. If I studied in Korea, I could focus on studying instead of working as I lived with my parents. In conclusion, studying abroad has become increasingly common among university students. While studying overseas is indeed expensive, I firmly believe that the benefits it offers outweigh the costs and contribute significantly to personal growth.