Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children always play with their smartphones every day has become a serious social problem which many parents and teachers are worried about. In my opinion, this is an absolutely negative situation and it is caused by many reasons. First of all, according to the rapid development of technology, smartphones have been designed more and more attractive. Children's ability for self-control is not well developed, therefore, most of them can't reject this attraction. What's more, many parents are not strict enough to stop their children from playing on smartphones, because in general situations, if they do this, their children would cry or scream a very loud voice which makes them can't concentrate on their own things. In the end, they just let their children do whatever they want to do because they are tired of babysitting them. This situation must be changed because it's not good for children's future development. If they spend too much time on their smartphones, they will miss the opportunities to learn other skills such as teamwork, brainstorming and time management which are very important to their future. On the other hand, children only can gain limited knowledge from smartphones. They always use their phones to watch videos on many platforms such as Youtube, Instagram and they also play video games. All of these activities are useless most of the time, they are just designed to make people feel happy. In conclusion, parents should take action to limit their children's screen time, for both their health and future achievements. It's their responsibility to guide their children to take more time to participate in real-life activities such as doing some exercise, hanging out with friends and learning skills like swimming or dancing. All of them are better than playing on smartphones all day.