Some people believe that the problem of illegal drugs can be solved by just legalising all drugs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this.

It is sometimes argued that drug smuggling which is happening worldwide can be tackled by making all drugs licensed. In my opinion, this is a totally wrong solution. There are several reasons why I am certain that decriminalizing all drugs is impractical. First, the number of drug abusers will increase, especially among youth as they can buy heroin or narcotics in pharmacies whenever they want, and schools will no longer propagate the damage that those stimulants cause. In addition, patients could use special medicine such as morphine, insomnia medication or antibiotics without a prescription from the doctors, and an overdose of those pills can harm the body and even lead to death consequence. Finally, this idea could encourage the exposure and expansion of mafia organizations, which are now only operated in the dark. If they are allowed to come to light, they can manipulate the politics and economy of the country. I am pretty sure that the crime rate will definitely increase and society therefore may become mayhem. On the other hand, accepting all medicine can create a waste of using national funds and resources. More people addicted to drugs forces the government to build more rehab schools. The land will be used to construct those schools and a lot of staff will be hired to work in those institutions. For example, many countries have spent loads of their national money on treating and re-educating drug addicts. This depletes the resources of a country, and thus less money will be allocated to more important affairs such as redeveloping the country or reducing poverty, and the welfare of honest citizens therefore suffers. In conclusion, my view is that illegal substances should not be legitimated, and the idea of recognizing all of them is just a superficial method that causes social disorder and affects honest people’s life.