in some countries, the number of shootings increase because many people have guns at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The fact that the number of victims of handgun shootings is rising day by day because of shotgun ownership is true. Even though some people claim the importance of weapons in terms of recreation and self-defence, I totally disagree with this statement which will be enlightened in this essay. To begin with, it is hard to deny that keeping a gun at home is extremely dangerous for children and teenagers. There are some possible occasions when parents may forget to lock a handgun in a safe place and the minors may play with it which may result in accidental shootings. Besides, because adolescents are more vulnerable to suicide, they may intentionally harm themselves by shooting, if they are experiencing emotional hardship. This is proven by the statistics of the US which stated that the number of shooting accidents has increased in the last decade because of the carelessness of parents towards keeping guns safe. Therefore, it is not advisable to have a weapon and keep it at home, especially if one has children and adolescents. Moreover, keeping a gun at home is also risky for owners. This is because almost all couples tend to experience arguments or debates, even sometimes they may witness the disloyalty of their spouses which may cause excessive aggression in them. Consequently, potentially it is highly likely for them to injure or even kill with a pistol under emotional tension. Males, for instance, are exceedingly prone to lose control when they witness the cheating of their wives with someone else. Thus, this threat of a shotgun should not be ignored before one decides to own it. In conclusion, the shooting rate has witnessed a high increase due to handgun ownership these days. Yet, owning a gun is quite beneficial for recreational and self-defencing purposes, but there are still threats of gunshots for both owners and their family members. Having considered all these aspects, I totally disagree with the law which allows people to own guns.