These days people spend more and more time at work and less time at home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, people are spending more time working than at home. While this trend can be beneficial, since it means faster professional growth and economic advantages, it also has drawbacks such as stress and lack of time for private problems. Firstly, the main advantage of this development is that it aids the individuals' careers. Employees grow quicker professionally if they spend more time at work, as they have more time to learn and practise concepts about their job. Moreover, most of the job contracts pay the employee hourly; therefore, by spending more time working, the employer has to pay more for its workers. For example, in Europe, 8 hours of work per day is the standard; anyone who spends more time than that will get paid an extra. This demonstrates that individuals get richer by spending more hours at work. Nevertheless, spending less time at home also leads to serious downsides. Stress is an important concept for the well-being of an individual. If workers are spending more at their own companies, they get stressed very quickly, leading to health complications. In addition, when workers return home, they are tired; thus, any personal problems that need their attention are left unresolved, leading to unforeseen consequences. For instance, married workers often have problems with their own marriage; when they return home late from work, they are left too tired to tackle these issues. This shows that workers are too tired to resolve any personal problems if they spend too many hours at work. In summary, although spending more time at work can be beneficial both financially and professionally, the drawbacks are something to be worried about, as personal stress and problems are equally important.