The only way to improve road safety is to have stricter punishments for driving offenders.

It is usually perceived that the best solution to alleviate pedestrian safety in traffic is to enforce heavier retribution. However, the writer disagrees with the given statement as stricter punishments would not be effective unless the enforcement process is done properly and it is better to prioritize education to ensure safety and hence restrict crime levels. Traffic accidents are the most common and lethal calamities, thus many concerns are on this issue. The government gave out a lot of restrictions and punishments however it is not working if the people on duty do not impose such severity and earnestness on the lawbreakers. Take a look at Vietnam – a country with bad traffic conditions, the number of drunk drivers has been reduced significantly due to the new law of driving under the influence of alcohol. The law was imposed long ago but only worked when all the police officers started to enforce more responsibility on the criminals. The same situation goes for the smoking laws, as it has not been improved despite the strict punishments, all because people do not feel concerned about the issue. As we all know, it is always best to fix the root cause first and education should always, be our main priority, especially for the young generation. Education helps to widen our knowledge and hence alleviate the perception of traffic issues. In Victor Hugo’s novel “Les Misérables”, Jean Valjean – is a man who was arrested for 19 years because he stole a loaf of bread for his starving nephew. The unfairness of the world makes him want to revenge, nevertheless, the sincerity and love that Myriel gave him changed his life forever. The moral of the story here is to cherish love and education because those two factors are what we need to live, and it is no different in restricting crime levels. In conclusion, enforcing strict punishments could be advantageous however this is not the best and long-term solution. To achieve stabilization on the road, we should take the laws seriously and improve education qualities.