Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Newspapers and magazines have long been instrumental in delivering news to people. However, their role is being undermined as more contemporary and efficient sources of information emerge, such as the Internet. While some still claim that newspapers will retain their traditional role of conveying news, I would argue that the Internet will soon overshadow their popularity. One of the most relevant reasons for the dominance of the internet as a knowledge source is the wide array of powerful tools it provides. With the use of modern search engines such as Yandex and Google, a user can acquire any piece of information in a flash. Compared to newspapers, which require a reader a certain amount of time to traverse and obtain needed knowledge, search engines allow a user simply enter a concerned topic into the dedicated text field. Such simplicity of usage and access time is what makes search engines stand out. Moreover, reading online is much cheaper than paper and even free in some parts of the world. With a simple personal computer or a mobile phone and minimum availability of the internet, users instantly obtain access to millions of websites and information sources. Speaking in favour of newspapers, there are still a significant number of people who utilise them in a conventional way. This is especially true of the elderly population, who either do not have an internet connection or do not possess the necessary skills to use it. Additionally, some people simply prefer newspapers because of the tangible experience. For instance, articles printed on paper can be handled, which bears a better impression than online articles. Nevertheless, the number of companies producing traditional newspapers is on a decline, and as the world is moving towards digitalised sources of information, they may completely disappear in the near future. To conclude, as far as the future is concerned, I believe online resources will dominate the field of information resources due to their quick and convenient access and the volume of data it contains.