The Internet has caused people to be isolated from their real lives. Do you agree or disagree?

The Internet is getting more popular these days. It is generally believed by many people that the Internet is the root of people ’s seclusion from their society. From my perspective, this idea is completely flawed owing to the benefits in terms of communication and knowledge acquisition that the Internet offers. Firstly, I would argue that the Internet is one of the most powerful facilitators of communication. At the moment, numerous websites such as Facebook or Yahoo offer much faster and more convenient services for users to keep in touch with their friends and relatives regardless of geographic distance. within their users’ social circles and enables them to send instant messages or make video calls in a few seconds no matter where they are. People, therefore, can enjoy both the convenience and the swiftness that those services provide. Secondly, I believe the Internet has empowered people to acquire more knowledge about their society than ever before. As a matter of fact, it is able to bring every aspect of life to people, which I think is valuable because people will have a closer look at how their society really is. The latest news about sports, education or criminals for example is updated constantly in many online sources that are open to everyone. This easy accessibility equips people with sufficient information, in other words, they are more aware of the problems lying within their society. In conclusion, as the two analyzed reasons above, I strongly disagree with the idea that Internet users are drifting away from their lives because of online services.