Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, an increasing number of people have a tendency to use medicines without a doctor’s diagnosis. I strongly believe that this is a negative development which has detrimental effects on people ’s lives. To begin with, unprescribed medicines will worsen the conditions of an illness or it will lead to another chronic disease. Moreover, it is highly recommended that people visit a practitioner in order to take proper treatments,as doctors have academic degrees and are trained to alleviate people ’s pain and distinguish their health problems. Therefore, individuals should not have self-treatment just by what they have heard from others or have searched on the Internet. For instance, the results of researches which have been investigated in Medical universities of Iran illustrated that the number of patients who have taken illegal drugs has risen dramatically. In addition to the above, taking illegal medications may lead to irreversible consequences.The most important one is death.There are a majority of cases which are referred to the hospitals that can be easily cured if they would consult with a specialist and take correct remedy.Unfortunately, this deteriorating habit has been increasing among nations, especially the elderly people who are unable to go to the doctors or their children do not have enough time to allocate to their parents. Consequently, they have to take inappropriate drugs in order to relieve their pain. Therefore,the awareness of society members towards this vital issue should be increased. For example, in many countries there are many medical programs are produced in order to boost people ’s knowledge and tempt them to develop healthy habits which bring advantages to the whole community. In conclusion, although many people prefer to use drugs instead of visiting doctors,I deeply believe that this phenomenon has bad impacts on their health and should be avoided.