Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Children have various interests, such as reading books and playing computer games. However, I strongly disagree with those who feel that it is better for children to read books than to play games or watch TV for two main reasons. Firstly, at a young age, children deserve the opportunity to enjoy their free time by playing. As they have already spent most of their time studying in school, forcing them to read books will make them tired. Not only does it make children tired, but it can also make them overwhelmed and stressed. This may lead to a lack of motivation and even a negative attitude toward reading. On the other hand, allowing children to play can help them to relax and recharge. Playing games also teaches children how to manage their time effectively. To illustrate, parents may allow their children to play games after they finish their assignments. By implementing this rule, children will learn to prioritize their tasks and manage their time between playing and studying. Secondly, playing games can improve children's cognitive and social skills. Although it could be argued that playing games negatively affects children, games can actually train children's brains. Playing strategy or puzzle games, for instance, encourages children to analyze situations, solve problems, and make quick decisions. These skills are useful not only in games, but also in academic settings and real-life situations. Additionally, as they play games with other players, children will have opportunities to make more friends. Not only do they gain more friends and connections, this also allows them to learn how to socialize and communicate with new people. In conclusion, playing games can not only recharge children's energy, but can also improve their soft skills such as critical thinking, communication and solving problems. I, therefore, remain firmly convinced that it is better to let children play games in their spare time.