Some people think governments should care more about education the elderly while others think they should focus on investing in education for younger people. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Some people believe elderly individuals should have an education like children. I suppose it is unnecessary work due to the fact that it costs a lot and their learning ability is reduced. First and foremost, a disadvantage is that adult people who are supposed to learn will put society to a considerable amount of expense since society must allocate a large budget for them. In other words, if it happens, we will need more labour. For example, a teacher should work two shifts, one part for children and another the other for adults. In addition, a bigger number of teachers should be employed. All these measures will cost hugely. Secondly, their capability of learning is reduced because of increasing age. Provided that you compare a child with a grown-up, you can understand easily that they need too much time to learn due to the fact that they need more motivation for learning. According to research done in Iran, senior citizens who participate in classes in senior schools miss classes more frequently. As a result, teaching seniors demands more time and planning. On the other hand, one of the positive points of educating the elderly is that if they are educated, they will be able to apply technology. For example, they won’t require anyone to remind them to take pills or pay the bills which would help families of the older. In addition, they will be able to connect with others like their peers which will make a contribution to their happiness. Therefore, there will be more satisfied elderly. In conclusion, as I mentioned above although education for the elderly has some drawbacks such as high costs, it has benefits like reducing depression.