Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There are an increasing number of recidivists over the years for many reasons. It is true that some criminals commit crimes again after they have been punished. While there are several reasons for this alarming trend, some effective measures can be taken by governments to tackle this problem. There are two main reasons for re-offenders. Firstly, the prison system can make the situation worse. Criminals are put together in prison and they make friends with other malefactors. While they are locked up in prison, they do not have much to do there, and they would exchange information about what they have done before they came to the prison or they may plan crimes with other inmates. Secondly, offenders often do not have any other ideas for earning money. They are poor, uneducated and scarce with the skills needed to maintain a job. Worse still, a criminal record makes finding a job difficult, hence employers usually avoid hiring ex-convicts. Fortunately, there are huge solutions for government to solve them in a friendly way. Rehabilitation is the answer, the prisons must conduct a vocational training campaign which makes wrongdoers prepare for the rest lives. They can learn practical skills such as computer programming, can maintenance and graphic design. In this way, they can be hired for a position that requires this certain knowledge and skills. Community service is another way to reform offenders. Rather than being confined in jail with others, they can help society and become useful to their local community, and these practices would eliminate the negative influence that prisons can have. To conclude, it is true that re-offenders are one of the problems in our community; it can be solved by focusing on rehabilitation rather than punishment itself.