Some people believe that the the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs . Other believe that there are much wider benefits of university education for both individual and society . Discuss both views and give your opinion .

There are controversial opinions about whether the aim of universities is only related to finding good jobs or whether there are other goals. It is my strong belief that university degrees provide many more advantages and benefits. First of all, universitarian studies give people the opportunity to enlarge their culture and their knowledge. Along with that, universities focus on some specific subjects, so that the practical expertise and the actual understanding of the matters are deepened, too. Even though all this is certainly bound to ensure better job opportunities, what is more important, in my opinion, is that it will form better individuals. Consequently, hopefully, they will be better citizens, with a larger awareness of the actual issues that need to be faced to improve the global situation. Given that I strongly support the gist of culture as a fundamental element to overcome religious and power-driven conflicts, it comes without saying that a university education, to me, represents one of the best instruments to benefit individuals and, as a consequence, the whole society. On the other hand, it is my understanding that some people who do not care too much about major issues, such as political or environmental ones, may consider a university education as a simple opportunity to get better jobs and, therefore, higher incomes. One of the aims of the university should certainly be to help graduates to improve their possibilities and to provide them with some advantages while climbing their career ladder. However, this does not prevent the graduates from becoming better and open-minded people and, accordingly, from representing an added value to the society they are living in. To sum up, a university education aims to get better jobs but, in the meantime, it provides many implicit advantages that benefit not only the single graduate but the whole society.