Many people today are worried about the large quantities of waste produced by ordinary households. What problems are caused by household waste, and what solutions may be possible in both the short and the long term?

Coming along with the boom of population, home garbage is a headache in today’s life. There are a variety of consequences of this, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle the problem. The issues caused by household debris are many. Firstly, it affects the health of people, as it creates flies, worms and viruses which are the precursors of some serious diseases. For example, the pathogens from this type of waste can cause cholera, and the disgusting smell from these trash piles is one of the reasons for lung-related illnesses. Secondly, plastic trash pollutes the environment, as it erodes the soil, and damages the marine ecosystem. Finally, governments have to pour a large sum of money to process large quantities of waste, and large land funds have to be used for landfills. This, therefore, depletes the national resources. However, I do believe those problems can certainly be improved. For the short term, governments should have more propagation programs to raise awareness among people, at the same time encourage them to reuse unused items as much as possible. In addition, strict regulations must be used for garbage classification because this will make recycling treatment easier. In the long run, legislative actions will have to be applied to reduce the volume of trash. For example, plastic packages should be banned and this has happened in some parts of the world like some states of the USA, or high taxes should be imposed on garbage collection so that people will think twice before they throw anything away. In conclusion, household debris will continue to be piled up unless governments and individuals are on the same line to execute long and short-term plans.