The internet has become a common source of people to find information about medical issues, rather than going to see a doctor, is this positive or negative development?

Nowadays more and more people opt to search on the internet information about medical issues instead of seeing a doctor. In my opinion this is a positive development because allows people to be informed and avoid them paying and waiting for unnecessary appointments. Firstly, due to the effectiveness that technology offers, it is possible to search for any type of disease. Although we can not trust on every source of information, there are some online platforms where doctors are constantly updating material of what we should do to stay healthy, and giving advice on how to treat and relief headache symptoms, cold or flu. For instance, according to a recent quiz, 75% of the population in Uruguay said that they can sort out what they have to do to feel better, by reading online information. Secondly, for those who are struggling with money, and can not afford a medical consultation, as long as they are not having a serious health problem, the internet is a free way to find what to take and how to feel better. Moreover, sometimes it is hard to find an available soon appointment. Hence, for these cases, the internet is a useful tool to solve the problem sooner. One research article suggests that individuals were paying for a doctor consultation just to know what cream they should use for a pimple, or to receive advice on what moisturized use for the face. To conclude, internet material has been increasingly effective due to the medical issues information we can find and to solve non-serious health problems, nevertheless doctors do not have to be supplanted by