Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued some people that youth should be able to support community services in their neighbourhood for free. Although some people think that working in community service does not get paid, I believed that the merits outweigh the demerits. Working at NGO for youngsters has become quite popular nowadays. There are two benefits associated with these activities such as levelling up their portfolio and sharpening their character. First, many youths think they want to devote their time to community service in their neighbourhood to write good portfolios in their resume. These activities sometimes will be considered as added value by some employers, thus numerous youth join many NGOs for free. For instance, In,Indonesia young generation follows the Indonesian Mengajar community to help the remote area education system for a year to build and support their education because their isarea often untouchable by the authority. Secondly, parents want their teenagers to grow up having caring and kind characters which is why they encourage teens to join many community services. Besides that, providing help to the elderly or poorer will sharpen their sensitivity which is important to develop their character in the future. Therefore, this kind of activities should be embraced by the young generation. On the other hand, it also has some drawbacks such as underpaid as well as low motivation in the long run. To begin with, working in community service is always associated with low wages or even free so it is not attractive for some teenagers, and sometimes when they are joining the community and do their job in the long run lead to demotivation because they actually are not passionate to do. Thus, many youngsters are being quit even though they do not finish the duration contract yet. In conclusion, working in the communities services is sometimes associated with being underpaid and not being motivated, however it is necessary for teens to acquire some benefits such as a good portfolio and build up their character. Although this trend has some demerits, personally I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.