Some people think that advertising on TV is useless and others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

People fall into two camps as to how useful TV advertising is. While advertising on TV can be beneficial in some regards, I am of the opinion that it is largely of insignificant value. Admittedly, TV broadcasting for advertising purposes can prove effective in two principal ways. The main advantage of this form of marketing is targeting a specific age group such as the old. Knowing the fact that the majority of old people prefer TV to other electronic devices like smartphones for entertainment, marketing agencies are wise to advertise products intended for the elderly on TV. This way, a larger number of old people can be reached by companies. More than just informing a particular age group, TV adverts seem to be a viable option for reaching people in far-off regions such as villages and islands, where people may not have the luxury of the Internet. This allows producers to expand their consumer base, and thus increase their sales. On the other hand, I support the view that TV advertising is, by and large, pointless. The chief reason here is the fact that TV viewership is gradually falling out of favor. This is because TV is giving way to smartphones and the Internet as a medium of information sharing. As a result, commercials shown on TV are often unwatched. Being aware of this fact, producers would rather invest in online advertising. Besides, people tend to dismiss TV commercials because of their intrusive nature. Promotion videos shown during a movie or a TV show put off people as they ruin one’s viewing experience. Hence, viewers tend to see products featured in TV adverts in a rather negative light and develop a negative association with them. In conclusion, TV advertising is not without its potential benefits, but I personally consider it to be impractical seeing as TV viewership is declining and TV adverts can be off-putting.