Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can gov and individuals take to tackle the issue.

Undeniably, one of the biggest challenges of our time is the global warming. This phenomenon has escalated radically in the past two centuries, thus both governments and individuals need to take action to address effectively this problem. This essay will examine those measures as well as the main reasons behind this development. Firstly, they are two main causes behind global warming, which are the over-emission of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere and deforestation. In other words, people in modern societies emit excessive amounts of greenhouse gases, such as carbon dioxide, through the combustion of fossil fuels, coal and gas in order to generate electricity and support industrial activity. Secondly, another primary cause is forest degradation in which vast areas of vegetation are destroyed in the name of farming, agriculture and residential development. The issue with this situation lies in the fact that forests serve as the lungs of our planet by consuming carbon dioxide and releasing oxygen. This process contributes significantly to the maintenance of greenhouse gases at normal levels. Therefore, both deforestation and air pollution disturb the balance of greenhouse gases resulting in global warming. In order to deal with this development,governments and individuals must adopt environmentally friendly policies and habits respectively. First of all, governments must invest in the production of renewable energy namely solar and hydroelectric power. This is an efficient way to reduce air contamination and to cover the energy requirements of human activities. Moreover, rigorous legislation must be implemented to ban unequivocally deforestation. In addition, people should confine their carbon footprint by following a vegetarian lifestyle and using public means of transportation or bicycles. Thus, it is evident that the main priority for the confrontation of global warming is the reduction of air pollution. In conclusion, human activities are the leading cause of global warming, therefore the global community should act in unison to eliminate this problem that threatens humanity’s welfare on earth