Is the recent craze over OTT platforms good or bad?

The impact of OTT platforms has been a topic of heated debate for a long time now. This is owing to the fact that they offer unparalleled benefits to users, and yet they create habits that end up as addiction if not regulated. In my opinion, even if there are tremendous advantages of using over-the-top applications, their usage must be regulated, especially for teenagers. On the one hand, there are several advantages of using OTT applications. To elucidate, they are inexpensive, and an annual subscription to one such app would be less than the cost of 2 movie tickets, thus offering users a high return on their investment. Additionally, they also give the opportunity to viewers to watch content that they like, and in the manner, time and language that they deem fit. To exemplify, the most popular movies and TV series in the world can now be watched in various languages from anywhere at all. Therefore, it is clearly evident that OTT applications and websites multifarious benefits, putting consumers in a win-win situation. On the other hand, if uncontrolled, these applications can lead to grave repercussions, especially on young children. To elaborate, binging on movies and shows could hurt the eye and put undue stress on the viewers. Moreover, if the person watching does not have proper time-management skills, it can make them lose precious hours of their life. To illustrate this, in a recent report at the national level, it was observed that productivity at organisations has gone down by over 10% in the last 5 years because of over-exposure to such OTT platforms. In a nutshell, it can be seen how OTT apps have demerits as well, predominantly for children. In conclusion, it can be sufficiently inferred that the usage of video-streaming websites and OTT applications has advantages as well as disadvantages for people. I believe that a certain level of restraint is required to ensure that we make the best out of such facilities.