Some people say that young people learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others say that young people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, technology especially games become more and more popular. Some people argue that playing video games is wasting youngsters’ time, while others think it is beneficial for them. In this essay, I will discuss both views as well as stating my support for the former view. On the one hand, online games may bring many benefits for teenagers. To begin with, these days most computer games are highly interactive allowing players to immerse In a complex storyline and control characters at their own will. In other words, playing video games can help exercise brain powers. As Players often face many puzzles and problems which become gradually tougher during the games, helping the player to understand the logic behind these problems and learn how to solve them effectively. For example, role-play games and graphic adventure games force players to make tough choices, which help them develop decision-making. On the other hand, there are two main reasons why playing games cause drawbacks. Firstly, games can be quite harmful to their physical health. More specifically, it is proven that spending a huge amount of time in front of their computer screen and playing video games has adverse impacts on their health such as obesity or eye strain. Secondly, it also may affect young people’s mental health. Because there are many games that contain violent and sexual content. If kids play that game too much, they can become more aggressive when being exposed too much to violent games. As a result, it affects their behavioural and mental health. In conclusion, although online games may be beneficial for problem-solving skills of young people, I believe that playing games is wasting their time, because of the negative effects on health.