Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, many people argue that certain food advertisements should be forbidden like cigarette ones, because researchers found that overeating is as harmful as smoking. While I accept that overeating may bring about some health problems such as smoking, I believe that the advertising of particular food should not be banned. On the one hand, there are two reasons why consuming a large amount of food has an adverse impact on consumers. Firstly, consuming more calories than you burn through doing exercises leads to being overweight or obese, which leads to putting a lot of stress on the muscles such as experiencing muscular and joint pains. In addition, if people start eating a lot of unhealthy foods which have a lot of calories, and high-fat junk, they are more likely to suffer from various health disorders: high blood pressure, and heart attacks. Secondly, when people suddenly put on weight, they tend to lose their confidence in their appearance and worry excessively about their image. This leads to decreasing productivity and suffering from isolation or depression. On the other hand, despite the problems mentioned above, I disagree with the idea of banning certain food product advertisements in the same way as tobacco. The first reason is that advertising is one of the best ways to reach potential customers and introduce new products and services to consumers. If a ban was introduced, the revenues of many food factories can dramatically drop, which leads to bankruptcy. The second reason is that there are better measures to solve this problem. More specifically, the government should raise people ’s awareness about the detrimental effects of overeating. And they even provide courses to teach people how to make healthier food choices and how to stop overeating. In conclusion, although consuming an unnecessary amount of food is harmful as smoking, I believe that the advertising of certain food should be banned.