Many countries want to host international event while others not

It is undeniable that hosting an international sports event provides a feeling of pride to the nation, while others consider that it is more problematic than beneficial. This essay will analyse both viewpoints including my opinion in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are several merits of organizing events. Firstly, it aims to boost the international recognition of the country in front of others which helps to increase tourism. Since many people come to know about the event then they definitely become curious about visiting a particular country and that not only benefits hotels but also the government. For example, In Brazil, the number of tourists increased by 45% after the last games organized there. Moreover, it also aids in developing the infrastructure of the country because it is necessary to provide comfortable living space to visitors who come to watch matches, so the government surely build new buildings, roads and stadiums. Also, it provides individuals with job opportunities when new structures are planned to be created. Therefore, it gives rise to the economy of the nation. On the other hand, hosting sports has some demerits too. Initially, it diverted the government's attention to sports only from other facilities needed in countries such as healthcare, and education which left citizens suffering from problems even related to basic amenities. Additionally, creating new infrastructure puts pressure on the government to spend a hefty amount of money which has huge consequences for the country in the long term. To conclude, although being a host costs a lot to the country, it helps to improve career opportunities and well as tourism in the nation.