Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that punishments for immature offenders who violate standard norms should be equivalent to those imposed on adult criminals. From my perspective, I do not disagree with this idea. The primary reason why authorities should impose equal punishments for all criminals, regardless of their age, is the severity of the crimes committed. Given that the younger generation is growing up in a technology-driven era, it is inevitable that they will be exposed to violent video games and movies, which could have a detrimental effect on their mental health and decision-making ability, ultimately leading them to commit heinous crimes. For instance, in Vietnam a few years ago, a teenager named Le Van Luyen murdered three members of an unfamiliar family, with the intention of stealing their property to indulge his gaming addiction. Despite being under 18 years old at the time, he was not completely absolved of responsibility for his heinous act. Moreover, based on scientific research, it has been concluded that the decision-making abilities of immature individuals are not yet fully developed. Therefore, it is argued that juvenile offenders should not be held fully accountable for their illegal deeds. This assertion raises the possibility that the occurrence of heinous crimes committed by increasingly younger individuals may be attributed to the exploitation of this vulnerability, allowing them to engage in brutal activities without fearing any significant consequences. For example, consider school violence, where students who engage in abusive behaviour often go unpunished by both the school and legal system. To summarize, it is important to ensure that penalties for breaking the law are equitable for both young and adult offenders, as younger individuals are aware of the serious consequences of their actions. This can help to discourage an increase in juvenile offences.