Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problem can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Sleep deprivation is one of the most commonly reported disorders today. This issue can lead to many other problems, so several measures should be taken to remedy the situation. Sleeplessness has several negative implications in one’s life. Firstly, it can undermine one’s overall well-being. When sleep-deprived, people experience a range of physiological and mental issues such as chronic fatigue, increased risk of heart attack, depression and irritability. These problems, in turn, are followed by a decline in one’s quality of life. Another consequence of inadequate sleep is poor productivity. Since sleep is considered an essential recovery phase, people suffering from chronic sleeping disorder experience a lack of drive and motivation, which manifests in inferior academic and work performance. If this situation persists, they are likely to undergo major setbacks in life such as failing important exams or losing a job. Having established the severity of poor sleep, it is important to explore some solutions for this problem. Arguably the most effective measure would be improving one’s sleeping hygiene. This can be done by setting fixed bedtime hours, restricting phone use in bed and adjusting room temperature, to name but a few. This way, one can create a healthy sleeping schedule and an environment which is conducive to sleep. Limiting one’s consumption of coffee and energy drinks is another prerequisite for quality sleep. This is because these beverages contain caffeine, which has been found to interfere with sleep patterns. Only after restricting their caffeine intake can insomniacs expect improvement in the quality of their sleep. In conclusion, while compromised personal well-being and productivity are two major side-effects of lack of sleep, solutions vary from better sleep hygiene to limited intake of caffeinated drinks.