Today, people in many countries can live and work anywhere they choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Technological and transportation innovations in this ever-changing society expose people to more residential and employment choices than in the past few decades. I personally think it is a positive development, although it may intensify the economic disparity between urban and rural regions. Firstly, the idea that individuals can choose wherever they prefer to live and start their careers allows the public to discover their personal and professional strengths and enhance their careers. It is not uncommon to see citizens from underdeveloped communities migrate to metropolitan cities to look for job opportunities and a higher living standard because of the convenience of transportation and globalized communication. For example, urban regions are more prosperous and at the forefront of innovation, providing individuals with a wide range of career opportunities. The provision of the accessibility of advanced facilities such as quality education, healthcare services and recreational infrastructures ensures a higher standard of living for citizens in modernized regions. Therefore, such an opportunity promotes economic prosperity and encourages residents to improve their economic status by earning more salary. Secondly, the freedom to accommodations and employment locations facilitates the economic advancement of a nation. Workers from different walks of life with perspective specialisations yield significant benefits for the general development of society. For instance, companies can offer job positions to people from underprivileged areas and tap into their skills and experiences. These countries have comparative advantages, such as natural endowment and the availability of skilled labour. Consequently, the high population density of skilled workers ensures that businesses in different industries thrive to match the needs of customers and strengthen their economic status in the world. On the other hand, the downside of the liberty of residents to choose where to live and work because of technological and communicational evolution is that regional disparity may grow. People from small and underdeveloped communities flock to modern cities for educational and employment opportunities, leaving rural areas underpopulated. For instance, without the young labouring farming land and using their creativity to explore different fields, the rural economy with remain sluggish. This vicious cycle will accelerate the exodus of working-age citizens to megacities and exacerbate the labour shortage in most rural communities. In a nutshell, despite the regional disparity, individuals' freedom to decide where to live and embark on their careers has more beneficial implications for personal and social development.