in many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build home there? what is you opinion about this?

For many countries maintaining a balance between environmental preservation and providing housing for the increasing population is rather difficult. Some people think that protecting our planet's nature is more important than building new houses. I will explain why their point of view can be true and I will provide my opinion regarding the topic. Rather than increasing global warming, carbon dioxide levels and many other damaging factors to Earth, we need to reduce them. Those factors are mainly caused by urbanization because when construction companies cut down trees to build new cities, as a result, the number of trees is reduced. This in turn will restrict the earth's ability to cool down heat waves, reduce carbon dioxide levels and increase oxygen levels due to the fact that green spaces are natural filters for our atmosphere. For this reason irresponsible cutting down of trees may lead to a dramatical increase in negative impacts on our planet. In my assumption, no one can deny that accommodation demand is on the rise. However, instead of expanding cities horizontally, living units can be built vertically. This will significantly help to reduce the land area needed to build new cities and towns. for example, New York City has a large number of highrises so it populates nearly 10 million people in around 100 km2. While in Toronto the same area of land occupy only 3 million people. In my view, this example clearly shows that building towers as an alternative to large space houses can present a solution to saving our planet. In conclusion, although it is necessary to build new housing to cope with the population increase, not damaging the earth by affecting urban areas is no less important. In my opinion, building further expanding the towns to the countryside areas can be harmful to our environment.