Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to make people recycle more is to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recycling of useless materials has been a subject of debate for many years. Some people opine the amount of recycled is not enough and it should be increased by some legal actions by the government. In this essay, I will explain in detail why the methods of reward and punishment would act better to encourage nations to recycle their waste and obey the law. As it can be easily seen, the offenders who break the laws, due to pressure of hectic lifestyle, are numerous; hence, the legislation of a law is just not enough to enforce people to do the right thing. Therefore, giving prizes would be more functional because in this way people attempt to do the recycling process more to achieve the award. Hence, the government must set some rewards for those who do the recycling and separate their plastic and other materials in their rubbish. For example, since the 21st century began, the government authorities have granted some subsidies to those who obey such laws or has given a discount on some raw materials for folks who separate their garbage. Punishment is another method to internalize separating waste in people ’s daily life. In order to reach the peak of recycling amount, it is important to set some penalties in forms of fine or imprisonment for a short period of time. Therefore, people ’s fear stops them offending the rule. For instance, authorities set at least 3000$ as a fine for offenders in some development countries for the purpose of reaching cleaner environment. Because they believe: “The more people are intimidated from punishment, the more the rules are obeyed. In conclusion, setting laws helps administrations to construct cleaner earth but it is not enough yet and needs many attempts and scarifications by a huge number of locals to contribute. Also, some factors such as rewards and punishments should be existed to encourage people to obey them.