Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Every time I saw pupils who stuck their eyes on the cellphones on the metro, I started to wonder whether the education system or society had changed these days. In the following essay, I would elaborate on the reason behind this trend and explain why I believe it can deteriorate the learning skills of youngsters. To begin with, the growth of social media is a contributing factor to it. The social network and friendships play essential parts in the daily life of adolescents. Social media is the place for them to establish their community and boost their self-esteem. For example, if a young lady does not actively respond to her classmates on Facebook, she might lose some chances of making bonds with her classmates and even be deemed a nerd or an unfriendly one. Moreover, not catching up on the instant news, the young might not be able to keep ahead of the fashion trend, which produces a great amount of anxiety. This can lead to a lack of patience in learning as the information on the Internet is rapidly delivered to its users. Youngsters might get used to the rapid pace and find it hard to absorb knowledge from paper-based books. For instance, publishers in Taiwan found that the number of readers has been decreasing over the past few years because of the prosperity of smartphones. By contrast, short videos and streaming services are far more popular among youngsters. Furthermore, using smartphones too often can expose children to detrimental content like repetitive short dancing clips and even fake news, which degrade the intelligence of pupils. To illustrate, TikTok produces tens of thousands of clips with the same song and dances. Its users are still addicted to making and copying another one. Such activity is simply a waste of time and involves little creativity. In conclusion, I believe social media is the main reason children want to stick with their phones. However, it can hazard the growth of children as a whole.