Some people think that a sense of competition should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In some families being competitive is a valuable quality and they encourage their children about it, but other parents try to discourage their children because in their opinion being competitive will not help them during their adulthood. It is agreed that being competitive should be encouraged in childhood. Because this means that in the future a child will have a strong character, and will do everything in order to be the best in every area. Although, such kind of people usually cannot work in groups and agree with other people. And it is one of the biggest disadvantages of being competitive. First and foremost, people who prefer to work individually, usually do not depend on other people. In my point of view, it is one of the biggest advantages of being competitive. They can be good owners of businesses. Because they think that without competition there will not be any growth. But if they do not want to be self-employed, they can be successful in every field that they choose. The majority of successful businessmen are competitive people. However, being competitive can have its disadvantages, too. As an example, they are not able to work in groups. Because it is difficult for them to go to concessions. Although, they can be good group leaders. The reason for such behaviour is due to getting used to spending time solely since their childhood. Also, such people can be introverted. Therefore, they can suffer from minor mental health issues. To sum up, I concur that being competitive has not only pros, but also some cons, too. But even in this case the advantages that this character gives to the person is important for their academic growth and life experiences.