In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is no doubt that many cultures motivate children to always pursue their goals in life, trying as hard as they can. While many people say that this type of motivation can be harmful to children ’s development, others argue that kids would be lost without this type of incentive. In this essay, I will discuss both views. Firstly, motivating children to achieve their goals can be advantageous for their development in terms of career and wealth. This is because, normally, kids will need money to conquer their dreams, so families must advise that having a successful career is the easiest way to get there. For example, using famous people who succeed professionally as role models can be a wise strategy for parents when raising their kids. As a result, children will grow up with a solid sense of responsibility. On the other hand, an excessive amount of motivation may also represent too much pressure, which is highly disadvantageous for children. In other words, when parents put professional goals and responsibilities in the first place, their pupils can become excessively overwhelmed. For instance, children who are thought that careers are the most important thing in life will most likely have little time to play with other kids, which is also important for their development. Consequently, these children may end up being depressive and stressed. In conclusion, there are many advantages to telling children that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough, like increasing their sense of responsibility. However, when this motivation turns into pressure, pupils can develop depression and stress, which is extremely disadvantageous for their development.