Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative atibe impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree.

Social networking sites and their effects are sparking debates. Some people believe that social media poses significant risks to both individuals and society as a whole. in this essay. I will be discussing this dilemma and pointing out some of the possible negative impacts of these sites. in this day and age, where the internet and social media have taken over every aspect of human life, we can clearly see the damage that has been done by these sites on both individuals and society, while social media provides many benefits such as making communication easier and cheaper,and helping people learn and educate them, their negative impacts and dangers can not be ignored. Firstly, one of the major downsides of social media is misinformation. False news and information are getting spread worldwide in a matter of minutes,these platforms benefit from engagement and clout, for example during the COVID pandemic in 2019 new claims and false information were being spread to millions of people daily, regarding the origins of the virus and the side effects of the vaccine, fostering a state of panic and horror. Another risk social media poses is the huge negative impact it has on mental health especially with the younger crowd, constantly watching influencers ' lives plays a part in increasing anxiety and depression,a study was conducted in 2022 by Doctor Ralph Smith from the University of Chicago shows that the number of people suffering from a mental health issue has dramatically rise sense the first appearance of social media in 2016. In short, while social media offers some great benefits, its damage to people and society is an urgent matter that should be addressed by the governments.