In spite of the advances in agrculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? what can be done about this problem?

Agriculture is the backbone of the society and it sustains the living and functions of all the other sectors of vocational activities. In the past year decades, the agro-industry has flourished and developed technically, however, there are still large sections of society that face huger issues due to lack of supply. This essay aims to delve deep into the factors responsible to cause this issue and would also suggest some rectifying measures to curb the problem associated with the lack of food supply. If one takes notice, the world has moved towards extensive commercialisation and this problem is now widely seen in the agricultural industry. Over the years, farming has sustained millions across the globe, but now, people who are engaged in this profession do not simply want to produce for their personal consumption, however, they wish to sell their crops further as a primary source of income. Looking at this demand, the corporate sector has leapt on to this opportunity to earn from the cash crops, store them in their storage silos and later inflate the prices and sell the product as a luxury instead of a staple requirement. For example, if one takes a look at the agriculture sector of India, earlier it was primarily for the sake of personal utilisation. Now it has shifted to private companies making contractual deals and encashing the stored grains later with higher price points and unique branding. This has rendered many economically weaker sections to struggle for food grains as the prices have soared due to branding. One of the best ways to curb this issue would be to centralise the agricultural industry all across the globe by setting some benchmarks and regulations to adopt free and sustainable agriculture. There should be a maximum set price for foodstuff rubble all over the world and supply of the same should be monitored by the global authority. For example, Infertile places where it is difficult to produce grains should be helped by the nations that can produce abundantly. As a result, this will allow reducing the problem of worldwide hunger and as the right to eat is the basic requirement of any human, this action will lead to sustained future and healthy practices of grain distribution to places that have and do not have meal abundance. To sum up, even though privatisation has led to over-accumulation of crop yield, leading to inflation; if global authorities intervene in this complication, it would surely curb the issues effectively.