In many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Serving some terms in prison is the most prevalent verdict given to criminals in most nations. I am of the opinion that this statement is not entirely true as there are other penalties melted to offenders which I will discuss in this essay. Admittedly, the majority of lawbreakers are made to go to prison, nevertheless, judgements are given in relation to the severity of crimes committed. One of which is the death penalty. The majority of some countries' constitution states that death is the only punishment for killing an individual with the exception of taking others' life in self-defence. For instance, Richard Mofe who was a notorious criminal and killed a family of four was sentenced to death by hanging in India. Furthermore, people have been made to pay fines for less severe crimes such as misconduct, negligence, and misdemeanour. The amount paid is also always in relation to the organizations or bodies involved. Also, community voluntary services like environmental sanitation, helping to curb traffics, participation in sensitization programmes and visitation to orphanage homes or rehabilitation centres amongst others are occasional court verdicts to humans who act against the law. In conclusion, it may seem that imprisonment is the most order given by a judge. This is because the largest proportion of violent activities is punished by going to prison or jail. Assuredly, other decrees include fines, voluntary services and so on.