In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the world in such environmental crisis and economic turmoil, many people choose to read online instead of spending money on printed stuff. Personally, I believe that online reading is preferable to reading physical papers. Firstly, we should consider the potential negatives of free online reading. A major negative of this debate is that it would cut the income of writers, journalists, photographers and etc. If nobody pays for reading, all these occupations will meet a great damage. In addition, it is said that people normally do not appreciate the value of free services. For instance, if you spend money on something you will use it better than earning it freely. On the other hand, free online reading has got many advantages. First of all, reading online saves more trees and it is really good for our planet. The next positive is easy accessibility. I mean all people have access to online news and e-books and this would lead to improving society’s awareness. Furthermore, online reading could broaden your horizons. For instance, you can read newspapers from all over the world, while in the past people were just able to read local newspapers. These days everybody can read the news even if it belongs to another country or nation and consequently, this would improve the public’s general knowledge about other countries and cultures. To conclude, I feel that the benefits of online reading outweigh its negatives, as long the occupations related to this kind of media don’t get hurt. In my point of view, in the near future, people will completely emit physical newspapers and books, which is an enormous change.