The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt the internet plays a huge part in everyone’s life. Social media such as Twitter and Facebook have been widely used by everyone. But some people argue that it replaces face-to-face communication. Both views have several advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, social media has several advantages that benefit the community. It is convenient, as it is easy to use and also at reach for everyone in possession of phones or any other electronics. Thus, it provides fast communication. For example, it takes longer to set a meeting time and place than just sending a message via Twitter or other social media platforms. Another advantage is that social media brings all kinds of people together at the same time. As an example, in real life, it is difficult to collect people from different backgrounds or interests in one place. As for the disadvantages, people tend to lose their communication skills if they are constantly using social media. As opposed to real life where you must talk and listen during conversations. In addition, the ability to read might be compromised because people got used to reading small passages only. This leads to being impatient and easily distracted. Also, it has effects on memory skills because many notifications and colours are in the app. To sum up, social media platforms are used daily by most people. While it has several upsides it can have some drawbacks too. It is convenient and provides fast communication, but it has effects on people ’s communication and personal qualities.