Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

It is true that there are many parents who are too lenient and indulge their offspring unconditionally in today’s life. I could say that this is a totally wrong way of nurturing, and this causes negative effects on the offspring’s adult lives. There are some explanations for why I said this is not the right way of educating. Meeting all the young’s gratification makes them create a distorted mindset that they can take everything for granted, and they, therefore, do not respect the value of labour. In addition, this makes them become selfish and feel it hard to accept the refusal, and this forms bad personality traits in young people. Furthermore, children are not old enough to tell right and wrong, so if guardians do not supervise and correct their actions constantly, they are prone to be involved in bad habits. For example, today’s guardians often let offspring play video games whenever they want, as a result, these children go behind in their studies, and their future will be impacted. The detrimental effects of this style of fostering on offspring’s adult lives are considerable. They are less persistent and resilient, thus it is hard for them to suffer the pressure in the workplace and work still in a job. Without having a stable job, they can not be financially self-sufficient, and, therefore are a burden for parents and society. Also, many people who are not taught to do household chores when they are young cannot live independently when they grow up and have to rely on their parents for this. For example, nowadays we often see similar stories of elderly mums who still have to look after their sons or daughters who are in their fifties. In conclusion, satisfying offspring’s all demands and tolerating all their actions are not the right way to show love but harm their whole future.