It has been argued that we are living in a throw-away society in which people throw away what they use in daily life, instead of recycling or reusing it. Why has this happened and how can we address this problem?

Opinions are divided on why people in our society are used to throwing away what they used in daily life and have no perception of saving. This essay will present possible reasons as well as the appropriate measures to alleviate these issues. There are several reasons that affect throwing-away behaviour related to the development of consumer goods and the high cost of recycling. With regard to the former, people might buy more than they need. For instance, an individual could replace any product without damage because of a new version which has insignificant differences compared to the previous version. Furthermore, they are influenced by various commercial promoting activities such as shopping festivals, which encourage customers to buy more as quickly as possible to fully pursue commercial income. In addition, there can be a considerable amount of effort and money in order to recycle. For example, recycling old car batteries is a costly affair and not everyone can afford it. As for the measures, more efforts are required from the government side to promote the habit of recycling and reusing products such as tax incentives and education about recycling. Regarding taxes are concerned, the government could encourage recycling items by reducing taxes. Additionally, the government should create attractive advertising campaigns about the effects and ways of reusing disposable or used items. Besides, schools and governments could organise exhibitions and contests on recycling to create more friendly environment products and create opportunities for the public to use them. In conclusion, there are many reasons why people are wasting and throwing more garbage than in the past, and these problems can be mitigated by several steps.