More and more business meetings are taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Online meetings of companies are prevalent nowadays yet there are positive and negative impacts of this shift. Holding meetings online is not expensive and it provides flexibility to many businesses however the problems are not solved quickly and there is reduced attention. The advantage of having online meetings is that it is generally cheaper. All it needs to have a meeting are a stable internet connection and devices such as laptops, tablets or mobile phones which almost half of the population worldwide have. Businesses will not spend their resources just to create partnerships with other groups and so this technology has played a crucial role in revolutionizing the way of people's lives today. For instance, online meetings have increased greatly during the COVID-19 pandemic which paralyzed almost all work yet work-from-home workers are still able to earn an income. Another advantage is, since the internet has bridged a gap it offers flexibility of time among corporations. Arranging meetings online is relatively easy and quick for many people especially those companies that are already online-based even before the pandemic started. On the downside of this trend, the concerns of each company might not resolve quick as possible because of technical issues, in which the internet connection is not the same in every nation. For example, due to the increased usage of the internet during the pandemic, loading statements of a person is a fairly common scenario in online agenda, which shows that this situation is not exactly good for everyone. Another disadvantage is there will be a reduced focus and engagement among participants. This is due to the fatigue of the individuals looking at their screens for so long that it affects their physical well-being. Having in-person meetings reduce the amount of time looking at the screens and it makes the meetings more productive. In conclusion, online meetings are cheaper and more flexible because they save more time and resources while could also slow down companies to solve problems and reducing the participant's concentration.