Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often said that the death of all members of species of plants and animals is the most serious problem. In my opinion, however, even though this concept is undeniable, I believe that there are more environmental issues that need to be solved. On the one hand, biodiversity loss is an alarming issue. Specifically, colossal numbers of species are becoming extinct across the globe. To illustrate, black rhino populations suffered dramatic losses in their numbers due to large-scale poaching to supply illegal rhino horn trade in the last 10 years. The staggering decline doesn’t fall in only animals, but in plants, too. A good example of it is the dragon trees. Although they can grow for thousands of years, they are no match for severe drought, and climate change. They are steadily disappearing from the continent. On the other hand, I would argue that there are more environmental issues that should be concerned, particularly the problem of air pollution. To illustrate, a great number of vehicles are manufactured and introduced to the public on account of the increasing demand for these products. When the consumption of automobiles climbs significantly, it contributes greatly to a higher rate of Carbon emissions, which has a detrimental effect on air quality. Consequently, this polluted air results in a variety of ailments including lung cancers, or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. In conclusion, a population crash in the wild is considered significant. However, the release of pollutants into the air also causes a lot of problems if neglected and not managed properly.