Some feel that movies and tv shows are a good way to study history despite their lack of historical accuracy at times. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that studying history through the media has a benefit while some people believe that it is sometimes inaccurate. Even though there is a lack of accuracy I believe that it has a positive effect. On the one hand, it is true that there is some problem with learning history from TV programmes or movies. First and foremost, a huge amount of shows and films are released every year, making it impossible to check every fact. Secondly, some media producers just want to earn money from the audiences as they don’t care if it is based on fact or not. For example, if they can not make those things stimulating, people may not watch them. On the other hand, although sometimes it may not be correct, I believe that it is still a useful method to learn our past. One of the main reasons can be that nowadays a lot of people may not find interest in the past so attractive TV programmes and historical films make history more accessible and engaging to a wide audience. They help encourage people who might not typically engage with history to explore and learn more. Another reason is that despite the creative fact, many programmes aim to capture the essence of a particular time period of historical setting as the audience still obtains useful information about the past from entertaining programmes. In conclusion, while it is acknowledged that studying history through the media can sometimes be incorrect, it still holds several benefits.