Technology that will allow cars to function automatically, without a human driver is currently being developed. When the technology for self-driving has been perfected, these vehicles will replace cars operated by humans. Is this positive or negative development?

In recent days, there has been a car automation development, and it will be the mainstream of vehicles in the future instead of cars that people have to drive by themselves. In my opinion, this progress would have a positive impact on safety on the roads and people’s lives. Firstly, this advancement would diminish the number of car accidents on the pathways and victims. This is because most vehicle troubles stem from human error such as watching phones or feeling sleepy while they drive. According to research done in 2019, 70% of incidents on the highways occurred due to the lack of driver’s attention and precaution. Hence, if the technological system takes the place of humans and steers completely, it can produce a beneficial effect on citizens or society. Another key point that I would like to emphasize is the fact that it would improve and upgrade older and disabled individuals’ lives. It means that they are not able to utilize vehicles for livelihood such as going shopping or commuting nowadays, thus if they harness this progress, they can go wherever they want to. For instance, in Japan many aged individuals who live in rural areas feel bothersome since they have to drive cars although they do not have enough physical ability to steer a vehicle. Thus, this development can solve the issue that disabled or elderly people have, and be beneficial for them. In conclusion, though there are some disadvantages of car automation, it would have more advantages than adverse influences. Therefore, I consider that it would create beneficial results on the public and residents, subsequently it would provide more convenient life for handicapped and retired individuals.