The number of people working from home has grown in some countries. What advantages and disadvantages can come to this trend?

With the aggressive growth of technology, working from home become feasible. Many people think remote working can remarkably saving the commute time and achieve work-life balance. However, some believe it might conducive employee’s productivity. I think the merits surpass the demerits. Admittedly, telecommuting generate beneficial on both employers and employees. From staff’s perspective, they thrift the daily commuting time. Instead of spending time in heavy traffic during the rush hour, employees can sleep adequate and ultimate their energy on work. At the same time, they have save the cost of driving or taking public transportation. From owner’s aspect, they free up office space renting fee, miscellaneous fee, and maintenance fee, turn to invest company’s projects or products. Furthermore, everyone control and distribute their responsibility between family and work, achieve work-life balance. Nevertheless, remote working may lead to negative impacts. Firstly, the communication between colleagues lack of face-to-face interaction but only go through online software, will lead to plenty challenging repercussion. For example, when problem occur, coworkers can hardly exchange information and address the issue immediately. Secondly, when in office, managers can easily track the progress. However, working remotely exaggerate the difficulty of evaluate every staff’s performance and risk reach the company’s target revenue. In conclusion, working from home is both a boon and a bane. The determent is whether staff can manage themselves efficiently and aware of the shortcoming accompany by remote working.