Some people think that intelligence is innate while others think that we can improve our intelligence through learning. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people argue that learning could improve intelligence while others believe that it is hereditary. In my opinion, intelligence could have development if is nurtured properly although inherited genes could have a crucial role. On the other hand, those people that think intelligence is innate might have thought of those individuals that were inclined towards music and arts. This is because they may have inherited their talents and creativity from their parents or another member of the family. For example, Beethoven is one of the greatest and most influential composers in history. His exceptional talent must have come from his father and grandfather, who were both musicians in their own right which influenced him to produce unforgettable and most admired compositions of all time. Although genetics may play some part, I believe that these individuals still need nurturing because, without the knowledge, their skills will not be honed and will not change overnight. Those who argue that intelligence can develop may have thought about those whose knowledge was further improved by reading and being a keen observer. They could also gain intelligence through their experiences that greatly affect how they perceived other matters in life. For example, Ben Carson was an American pediatric neurosurgeon before becoming a politician. During his childhood, he performed poorly but due to his mother's persistence, he found the love of learning and studying. Although, he was not the most intelligent among other doctors, his love of learning enables him to acquire many achievements and the most prominent was he became the head of pediatric neurosurgery at John Hopkins Hospital. I think that when an individual has the determination and persistence to develop their knowledge and skills nothing will impossible. In conclusion, even though biological inheritance could influence a person's intelligence, I believe that nurturing them could further stimulate their intellect.