Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problem has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

There is no doubt that media outlets have influenced many people to believe that women must be young and thin to have the ideal image or look. In this essay, I will discuss the issues that might arise from this and propose some ways to mitigate them. This controversial idea of the perfect body created by the media has resulted in serious diseases, which is a huge issue for young girls. This is because, in order to achieve what is considered ideal, these people have been following extremely unhealthy habits with food restrictions. For example, the growing number of depression and anorexia rates illustrates the terrible impact this trend has brought to modern society. To solve this problem, schools and universities must warn their students about the side effects of uncontrolled diets, especially those excessively restricted in nutrients. As a result, if young generations are fully aware of these problems, they will avoid following unhealthy diets. Another problem that may arise from this matter is the complete isolation of those who are affected by depression or anorexia. This happens as these people are so focused on achieving the perfect body, that they give up on all the rest, including family, friendships and studies. For instance, in extreme situations, many individuals who are going through such diseases prefer to finish their pain with suicide. A solution to this would be greater care from the family side, and also weekly therapy is strongly recommended. Therefore, dealing with such highly sensitive diseases is a tough task that can be controlled with family care and medical follow-up. In conclusion, the mentioned trend can cause serious diseases and terrible consequences, such as isolation and suicide. However, these problems should be minimized if schools and universities provide enough information about the side effects of unhealthy diets, as well as a close medical follow-up should be offered for those who are already affected.