Walking is known to be beneficial for health but these days the number of people walking has reduced a lot. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this situation?

Physical exercise is important to maintain a good physique and health. Most people prefer going for a walk as it does not require any training or endurance to do but recently there is a decrease in the number of people who walk. There are several reasons behind it and this essay will examine the preliminary reasons for the decline and suggest solutions to resolve the situation. To begin with, though walking has many beneficial health factors, it takes a long time to witness the effect. For instance, it takes 2 or 3 months for a person to reduce 10 pounds of body weight by brisk walking for at least 2 hours a day whereas through cardio exercise or intense workouts, a person can shed 10 pounds in a month. Thus, achieving the effect in a shorter duration. Another reason to be considered is the lifestyle. In the past, people used to walk for long distances but now people prefer to use motor vehicles like bikes or cars even for shorter distances considering the convenience and time. Time plays an important factor in both cases as nowadays people want everything to be done quickly thus walking has lost its importance. To tackle this situation, organisations can introduce reward schemes for their employees. This could increase the number of people to walk and thus can overcome a sedentary lifestyle. For instance, in Singapore, many organisations reward their employees with grocery coupons if they complete monthly walking goals. This boosts people to walk more and to complete their goals thus maintaining a healthy lifestyle. The government could also create awareness among its people about the benefits of walking and also encourage people to participate in national or regional walks that contribute to a cause. By these methods, there could be a sharp increase in the number. To summarize, though walking is essential for a healthy lifestyle, many prefer not to walk because of time constraints. This situation can be tackled by creating awareness among the people and also attracting people to walk by offering rewards when achieved certain goals thus having a healthy and active society.