Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

A lot of people believe that animal testing is an awful practice and it should be illegal. On the other hand, there are some that think of all those important discoveries that can be made. The question is does the benefits exceed the risks? Animals like rabbits and mice are often used as test animals in cosmetics, causing them a lot of pain and making them suffer. It is not crucial for human beings to use those animals for exploration purposes because it's not an important cause to explore things like face creams, mascaras or eye shadows. Yes, clinical researches are important, because we need to know how it would affect our skin and organs, but there are different ways to achieve this. For example, 3D tissue cultures could be invented in some laboratories and they can be used instead of those poor creatures. Medicine, on the other hand, is a very important field which can give us cures for many diseases. Pharmaceutical companies and doctors use animals for their scientific research because of the reason that some animals are very similar to us. Moreover, the mice and rabbit population is fast increasing with a high rate of fertility and that helps add a big number of test animals to those experiments. Another example is the pig's heart: it's almost the same as a human's which helps doctors to understand heart-related problems and solutions by simply testing this animal's organ. In my opinion, yes, experimentation on animals is causing pain and suffering and hides some risks, but for medicinal causes it might be the most safe and fast solution, providing important facts and information and saving lives. To illustrate this, imagine whole new medicine for high blood pressure. The safest way for this product to get on the market is by testing it on someone and we can all agree that people should not be tested first. In conclusion, I do believe that there are pros and cons to animal testing, but the benefits rise above the risks.