The detailed description about crime will affect the people and cause many social problems. Some people say that the media should be strictly controlled. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few years, crime rates are increasing at an alarming rate which is revealed on news channels with thorough details which affect individuals and their social life. One school of thought argues that the medium of communication should be strictly regulated. I strongly agree with this notion because it not only reduces criminal activities but also improves the public's mental well-being. To begin with, broadcasting and print media play an essential role in informing individuals about the current circumstances prevailing around them, however the presentation of television shows on certain sensitive topics should be avoided for the mental health of society. For instance, a recent article, published by Harvard University revealed that modes of communication play a major role in improving or destroying a nation's mental well-being. Therefore, newspapers and broadcasting channels should be undoubtedly controlled by the government. Furthermore, apart from improving mental health, regulation of the media industry by a certain authority also reduces criminals in the country. When youth are unaware of the crimes that are happening around them, they are less likely to get attracted towards them. Whereas, if they are told the stories of murders and thefts, there are more chances that they will end up getting involved in such acts. To exemplify, Switzerland is considered to be one of the top nations that have dealt effectively with the increasing number of offenders, and one of the viable measures adopted by them includes, controlling means of communicating information. To conclude, although the advent of the media industry has raised awareness amongst people about the events happening around them, in my opinion, the government should strictly control them so that there are fewer offenders and more contented people.